How to get from New York to Washington (train or bus) - Street Travelers - Travels - 2020
Travels

How to get from New York to Washington (train or bus)

This guide on how to get from New York to Washington will show you the different alternatives to make the transfer to the capital of the United States.
Packed with official government buildings, memorials and impressive museums, Washington is among the best excursions in New York that you can do and although the distance of more than 300 kilometers that separates the two cities is considerable, good communication by train, bus or plane, lets you know the most interesting points of Washington DC even if you have only one or two days.

Based on the experience of our last trip to the city of skyscrapers, during which we made the trip to Washington from New York, we explain all the options for you to choose the one that best suits your preferences. We start!

How to get from New York to Washington by bus

The cheapest way to go from New York to Washington is to take the bus that makes the journey in about 4 hours and costs between 10 and 30 euros, depending on the anticipation with which you book the tickets.
The majority of trusted companies that make this route such as Megabus, Greyhound, Boltbus or Flixbus, leave areas near Penn Station (line 1, 2 and 3 subway) or Hudson Yards (line 7 subway). You can check the schedules and the location of the stops on the page of each company.
In addition to having comfortable seats and Wi-Fi on board, these buses have numerous departures 24 hours a day, so you can start the excursion very early, take advantage of the full day in Washington and return at night.
Once you arrive in Washington, the bus will leave you at a stop near Union Station, 15 minutes walk from the Capitol and the National Mall, where most of the city's attractions are concentrated.

A more interesting option to know the history of the city and not miss anything important is to book this bus tour with a guide in Spanish or this private one, which is perfect for groups.


How to get to Washington from New York by train

The train from New York to Washington will cost you more than the bus, between 50 and 100 dollars, although you will save half an hour in time. These trains leave from Penn Station and leave you near the Union Station bus stop.

Another option for get to Washington from New York It is the plane that takes an hour and if you book in advance you can get quite good price. For us it is another option, such as that of the train, less advisable when wasting a lot of time in the airport transfers to the center and vice versa.

Washington

How to visit Washington

If you plan to spend the night in the city, we recommend accommodation near Union Station and the National Mall, where most of Washington DC's points of interest are located.
In this case, a very advisable accommodation is the Phoenix Park Hotel, located a few meters from Union Station and the red metro line.
In addition to its excellent location, the hotel offers comfortable rooms, 24-hour reception, friendly staff and one of the best quality / price ratios.

Once you have decided on the issue of transfer from New York to Washington and when you book the hotel, you can prepare your itineraries around the city with this Washington guide in one day and this list of the best things to see and do in Washington.

Map of the excursion to Washington from New York

Comment se rendre de New York à Washington (train ou bus) - Voyageurs de la rue - Voyage - 2019
Voyage

Comment se rendre de New York à Washington (train ou bus)

Ce guide sur comment aller de New York à Washington vous montrera les différentes alternatives pour effectuer le transfert vers la capitale des États-Unis.
Rempli de bâtiments officiels du gouvernement, de monuments commémoratifs et de musées impressionnants, Washington fait partie des meilleures excursions à faire à New York. Même si la distance de plus de 300 km qui sépare les deux villes est considérable, une bonne communication en train, bus ou avion, vous permet de connaître les points les plus intéressants de Washington DC, même si vous ne disposez que d’un ou deux jours.

Partant de l’expérience de notre dernier voyage dans la ville des gratte-ciel, au cours de laquelle nous avons effectué le voyage de New York à Washington, nous vous expliquons toutes les options pour que vous choisissiez celle qui correspond le mieux à vos préférences. Nous commençons!

Comment se rendre de New York à Washington en bus

Le moyen le moins cher pour aller de New York à Washington est de prendre le bus qui fait le trajet en environ 4 heures et coûte entre 10 et 30 euros, en fonction de l’anticipation avec laquelle vous réservez les billets.
La majorité des entreprises de confiance qui effectuent cet itinéraire, telles que Megabus, Greyhound, Boltbus ou Flixbus, quittent des zones proches de Penn Station (lignes de métro lignes 1, 2 et 3) ou de Hudson Yards (lignes de métro 7). Vous pouvez vérifier les horaires et l'emplacement des arrêts sur la page de chaque entreprise.
En plus de disposer de sièges confortables et d'une connexion Wi-Fi à bord, ces bus effectuent de nombreux départs 24h / 24. Vous pouvez donc commencer votre excursion très tôt, profiter de la journée complète à Washington et rentrer de nuit.
Une fois à Washington, le bus vous déposera à un arrêt près de la gare Union, à 15 minutes à pied du Capitole et du National Mall, où se concentrent la plupart des attractions de la ville.

Une option plus intéressante pour connaître l’histoire de la ville et ne rien rater d’important est de réserver cette visite en bus avec un guide en espagnol ou cette visite privée, idéale pour les groupes.


Comment se rendre à Washington depuis New York en train

Le train de New York à Washington vous coûtera plus cher que le bus, entre 50 et 100 dollars, bien que vous fassiez une économie d'une demi-heure. Ces trains partent de Penn Station et vous déposent à proximité de l'arrêt de bus Union Station.

Une autre option pour arriver à Washington de New York C'est l'avion qui prend une heure et si vous réservez à l'avance, vous pouvez obtenir un très bon prix. Pour nous, c’est une autre option, telle que celle du train, moins conseillée lorsque l’on perd beaucoup de temps en transferts entre l’aéroport et le centre-ville et inversement.

Washington

Comment visiter Washington

Si vous envisagez de passer la nuit dans la ville, nous vous recommandons un hébergement près de la gare Union et du National Mall, où se trouvent la plupart des points d'intérêt de Washington DC.
Dans ce cas, le Phoenix Park Hotel, situé à quelques mètres de la gare Union et de la ligne de métro rouge, est un lieu de séjour très recommandé.
Outre son excellent emplacement, l’hôtel propose des chambres confortables, une réception ouverte 24h / 24, un personnel amical et l’un des meilleurs rapports qualité / prix.

Une fois que vous avez décidé de la question de transfert de New York à Washington et lorsque vous réservez l'hôtel, vous pouvez préparer vos itinéraires autour de la ville avec ce guide de Washington en une journée et cette liste des meilleures choses à voir et à faire à Washington.

Carte de l'excursion à Washington de New York